2020 public holidays and local fiestas

This is the calendar of public holidays for 2020 as published recently by the Canarian government.

1 January – Año Nuevo/New Year’s Day
6 January – Epifanía del Señor/Epiphany
9 April – Jueves Santo/Maundy Thursday
10 April – Viernes Santo/Good Friday
1 May – Fiesta del Trabajo/Workers’ Day
30 May – Día de Canarias/Canarian Day
15 August – Asunción de la Virgen/Assumption
7 September – Tenerife’s “island day” for the festividad de la Bajada de la Virgen del Socorro/Fiesta for the Descent of the Virgen del Socorro (the usual island day of 2 February for Tenerife’s patron saint Virgen de la Candelaria falls on a Sunday this year so is substituted by this one)
12 October – Fiesta Nacional de España/Spain Day
7 December – Día de la Constitución Española/Spanish Constitution Day (Replacement for 6th which is a Sunday)
8 December – Inmaculada Concepción/Immaculate Conception
25 December – Natividad del Señor/Christmas Day

In addition to the above 12 public holidays (11 regional/national plus 1 island day), each municipality has its own two days, chosen locally and then announced by the Government, bringing the total number of holidays in any given area to 14. It is the proliferation of these two local days throughout the island that helps foster the impression that it’s the whole of Tenerife that is constantly on holiday. As soon as 2020’s local fiestas are confirmed they will be listed below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.