Elected councils formally sworn in throughout the Canaries today

Today will see new councils officially sworn in here in the Canary Islands. Councillors will be formally drafted, and mayors from before the election will either step down in favour of their replacements – as in Arona with Mayor Niño being replaced by Mayor Mena – or be reconfirmed in office, as in Adeje with Mayor Fraga. Between all the islands, 88 councils will be formed in a day of ceremonies in county towns throughout the Canaries. These events are open to the public – Adeje’s, for example, will take place at at 11am in the Convento de San Francisco (between the town hall and the plaza de españa). 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.