New association formed by five tourist boroughs

Photo: Adeje Ayuntamiento.

The five tourist boroughs of Adeje, Arona, Guía de Isora, San Bartolomé de Tirajana and Mogán between them welcomed 6.2 tourists last year – that’s almost half of all the visitors to the Canary Islands in the same period. Translate that into overnight stays and the percentage increases to 64.7%. More than reason enough for the five to decide to come together to form an association to take mutual decisions and deal with matters that affect all of the member boroughs.

The five mayors of the member councils of the new association, José Miguel Rodríguez Fraga, José Julián Mena, Pedro Martín, Marco Aurelio Pérez and Onalia Bueno, came together this morning to form the new Association of Canarian Tourist Boroughs, with its official HQ in the Costa Adeje Tourism Development Centre (Costa Adeje Tourism Development Centre (CDTCA).

During the act of establishing the new group all five mayors were very clear that they would be uniting their energies to meet the challenges of world tourism and increasing competiveness, within which the Canaries needs to advance beyond the traditional tourism model which is essentially based on ‘sun and sea’ into new areas with diverse products and segments.

Each of the founding members stated their belief that individually they should do more than lead the process of renovation in their individual boroughs, but also coordinate to insure the best possible allocation of available funding from public bodies for that purpose. It was obvious, they said, that current levels of public budget funding were not sufficient to adequately improve public infrastructures and other zones that require upgrades in the coming years.

The five mayors agreed that the tourism sector should be playing a more active role in the diversification and international aspects of the Canarian economy. They will move to establish increasingly integrated connections with other sectors such as agriculture, fisheries, technology and industry. They also wish to look at the potential offered by the islands’ geographical position with regard to Africa. European funding and grants will be another area of special attention with plans to use such monies to improve relations with our neighbours and improve economic links.

The new association states it is not exclusive and is open to other ‘members’ that share its philosophy and objectives, namely the coordination of unified action by the main Canarian tourist boroughs to defend common interests with the following aims:

1. Intensify the promotion and development of advances designed to improve the product and the tourist destination as well as offering improved and more efficient public services.
2. Encourage investigation and increased use of new technologies which make possible development and innovation from a borough point of view.
3. Develop communal projects to attract regional, national or international funds.
4. Promote administrative cooperation between borough members among businesses and sector interests.
5. Make possible the participation in or integration with national or international bodies.
6. Strengthen collective strategies as a way of increasing prosperity and local competitivity.
7. Develop synergies and joint strategies in urban innovation based on better municipal management.
8. Promote training and qualification for employment in the tourism sector adapted to the current state of the sector.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.