Ya no somos siete … somos ocho! The Canary Islands are now eight!

Photo: Gobcan.

They’re going to have to change the words! The Canarian Christmas carol Vamos Cantemos Somos Siete  won’t work any longer because we aren’t seven any more, but eight! The seven Canarian islands of Tenerife, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro (western province) and Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote (eastern province) are now joined by … La Graciosa! The national Senate’s General Commission for the Autonomous Communities has today unanimously approved a motion to recognize La Graciosa as the eighth inhabited island of the Canary Islands.

The Canarian Parliament will now conduct the requisite amendments to local regulatory regimes, and the  Canarian Statutes will be amended at national level. Administratively, La Graciosa will almost certainly remain part of the Teguise municipality of Lanzarote, but as of today, it’s an island in its own right, and makes the Canaries comprise eight inhabited islands! The Canaries actually comprises thirteen islands, seven of which have their own Cabildos. La Graciosa, which has about 700 inhabitants, receives some 25,000 tourists a year and is a protected space within the Chinijo Natural Park.

La Graciosa is 29 square kilometers, with two main towns La Caleta del Sebo and Casas de Pedro Barba. The sea dividing it from Lanzarote is known as “El río” (the River). Locals have been calling for it to be recognized as the eighth island for years. It is likely to remain administratively a municipality of Lanzarote … but that Christmas Carol will need changing …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.